Jacket for 'The Au Pair'

Publishers

UK - Little, Brown
USA – Berkley
Finland – Minerva
Germany – Blanvalet
Italy - Sperling & Kupfer
The Netherlands - Luitingh-Sijthoff
Poland - Swiat Ksiażki

The Au Pair

By Emma Rous

Published Jun 2018

A tautly plotted Gothic mystery of dark family secrets, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kate Riordan.

Seraphine Mayes and her brother Danny are known as the summer-born Summerbournes: the first set of summer twins to be born at Summerbourne House, a crumbling manor on the Norfolk coast. But on the day they were born their mother threw herself to her death over the cliffs behind their house, their au pair fled, and the village thrilled with whispers of dark-cloaked figures, changelings and a stolen baby.

Now twenty-five, and mourning the recent death of their father, Seraphine’s brothers join her at Summerbourne to go through their father’s things. When they uncover a family photograph taken on the day the twins were born featuring both parents posing with just one baby, Seraphine becomes fixated with the notion that she and Danny might not be twins after all, that she wasn’t the baby born that day, and that there was more to her mother’s death than she has ever been told…

This captivating mystery of who is really who will enthrall, entertain and keep you guessing until the very end – because memories, it seems, should never be trusted.