March 15, 2018

Maggie O’Farrell shortlisted in British Book Awards

We are delighted that Maggie O’Farrell’s memoir I AM, I AM, I AM has been shortlisted for Narrative Non-Fiction Book of the Year in the British Book Awards.

O’Farrell’s memoir is a number one Sunday Times bestseller and was also recently longlisted for the 2018 Wellcome Prize.

A memoir with a difference, I AM, I AM, I AM is the unputdownable story of an extraordinary woman’s life in near-death experiences. Insightful, inspirational, intelligent, it is a book to be read in one sitting, a story you finish newly conscious of life’s fragility, determined to make every heartbeat count.

The Awards set out to celebrate the very best of the British book industry, shortlisting six titles in each category. The winners will be announced at an Awards Ceremony on the 14th May.



March 1, 2018

Tim Pears longlisted for Walter Scott Prize

We are delighted that Tim Pears’ novel The Horseman has been longlisted for the Walter Scott Prize. One of the most prestigious literary prizes available, the Walter Scott celebrates writing of exceptional quality where the majority of the story is set at least 60 years ago. Tim’s novel The Horseman is a ‘magically immediate’ story set in 1911 Devon. It introduces Leo, a quiet, watchful boy with a masterful way with horses, and Charlotte, the Master’s daughter, who on horseback in britches can pass for a boy, and whom he befriends.

The Horseman is the first in the West Country trilogy, published by Bloomsbury. The second instalment, The Wanderers, was published January 2018. The shortlist for the Walter Scott Prize will be announced in April.


‘To speak bluntly, The Horseman is a magnificent novel.  In spare yet elegant precise prose Tim Pears offers entrance into a place and characters otherwise lost to time. This evocation appears effortless, yet all of the characters are imbued with humanity and grace, in lives that otherwise might appear brutal and horrific to modern eyes. Leo Sercombe is one of the most engaging creations to come along in fiction in a long time and I eagerly look forward to following his life in future tellings. Tim Pears is a novelist of the first rank and I can’t recommend The Horseman more highly.’

Jeffrey Lent


‘The end of the book [is] so gripping that devouring volume two the second it comes out is a foregone conclusion. Apart from the pacey finale, The Horseman is a slow, but satisfying burn… It is rare for a novel to be genuinely educational, but this is a work of fiction that could actually keep you alive after the zombie apocalypse. The Horseman is his best work in many years. As a testament to a forgotten generation of countrymen it is unsurpassed and it goes very nicely indeed with a dark night, rain on the windowpane and a cosy armchair.’ 


February 16, 2018

Deviant Minds: our new crime and thriller competition


A.M. Heath has teamed up with publisher Corvus to launch a new competition for unpublished writers. 

Deviant Minds is a writing prize open to unagented authors with an unpublished adult crime novel or thriller. The author must be born or resident in the UK or Ireland. The lucky winner will be offered representation by our agency, along with an offer of digital publication from Corvus, an imprint of Atlantic Books, with possible print publication to follow.

Entrants should submit the first 10,000 words of their novel, plus a synopsis of not more than 300 words, via email to The deadline for entries is midnight GMT on 27 April. Five entries will be shortlisted, and those writers will be asked to submit their completed novel. The winner will be announced on 9 July 2018.

The judges are A.M. Heath agents Euan Thorneycroft and Oli Munson, and Corvus Editorial Director Sara O’Keeffe and Editor Susannah Hamilton.

A.M. Heath says, ‘A.M. Heath is always on the lookout for new voices and new talent, so we’re thrilled to be launching a prize that welcomes and gives opportunities to unpublished writers. We know there are great undiscovered crime and thriller writers out there – and we’re excited to read many of them over the coming months!’

Sara O’Keeffe says, ‘We are delighted to launch the Deviant Minds crime and thriller prize in conjunction with A.M. Heath and look forward to reading a vast array of stories. We hope that from Deviant Minds will spring some devilishly good fiction.’

All details and Terms and Conditions can be found on the Atlantic Books website:

The full timeline is as follows:

  • Submissions open: 19 February 2018
  • Submission deadline: 00:00 GMT on 27 April 2018
  • Shortlist announced: 18 May 2018
  • Completed novels to be submitted: 11 June 2018
  • Winner announced: 9 July 2018.
February 8, 2018

Maggie O’Farrell longlisted for Wellcome Book Prize 2018

We are enormously proud to see Maggie O’Farrell’s breath-taking memoir I AM, I AM, I AM picked out for the Wellcome Book Prize longlist.

The prize celebrates new books – both fiction and nonfiction – with a connection to medicine, health, or illness. The varied longlist includes literary fiction, popular science, lyrical meditation, memoir, and medical history. Maggie’s I AM, I AM, I AM, which was a Sunday Times number one bestseller, is introduced by the Prize as ‘a tenaciously powerful account of what it means to be alive.’

The Prize wrote further: ‘this is a memoir with a difference – the unputdownable story of an extraordinary woman’s life in near-death experiences. Insightful, inspirational, intelligent, it’s a book to be read at a sitting, a story you finish newly conscious of life’s fragility, determined to make every heartbeat count.’

The shortlist will be announced 20 March 2018, and the winner at an evening ceremony on 30 April 2018.

January 25, 2018

Penguin Women Writers series

2018 marks the centenary of the first British women receiving the right to vote, an event which Penguin are celebrating with the launch of their Women Writers series: four classic titles – authored by women – which ‘deserve to be better known’ in the UK.

A.M. Heath is delighted that our author Kamila Shamsie, a Royal Society of Literature fellow whose latest novel Home Fire was this year Man Booker longlisted, was chosen to curate two titles in the series.


We are equally proud that Mary McCarthy’s Birds of America – the story of a young American fleeing the draft for the Vietnam War – was selected as one of the books by co-curator Penelope Lively.  Lively describes the novel as ‘crisp and clever’, and writes in her introduction: ‘Fiercely intelligent, insatiably combative, McCarthy’s novels invite controversy.’

Kamila’s choices, for which she has written introductions, are Sara Suleri’s Meatless Days – a ‘stunning’ memoir of female experience in post-colonial Pakistan – and Ismat Chughtai’s Lifting the Veil, a collection of stories Kamila calls ‘wickedly funny and provocative.’


‘In the life of every writer, there comes those moments when you’re asked to recommend books that are meaningful or important to you in some way. It’s always a source of great desolation to know that some of those books are out of print or – worse – were never published in the UK to begin with. Having a chance to right that wrong, and bring a couple of writers who I love into the lives of readers who didn’t know them before, was something that was impossible to pass up on.’

Kamila Shamsie on curating the Penguin Women Writers series


The series will be published in all its glory 1st February 2018.