• Maggie  O’Farrell

    Maggie O’Farrell

    Agent : Victoria Hobbs

    Maggie O’Farrell was born in Northern Ireland in 1972, grew up in Wales and Scotland, and currently lives in Edinburgh.

    Previously a journalist, she is now the author of eight novels: After You’d Gone, which won a Betty Trask Award, My Lover’s Lover, The Distance Between Us, which won a Somerset Maugham Award, The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox, The Hand That First Held Mine, which won the 2010 Costa Novel Award, Instructions for A Heatwave, which was shortlisted for the 2013 Costa Novel Award, This Must Be the Place, which was published by Headline in 2016 and shortlisted for the Costa Novel Award.

    Maggie’s memoir I Am, I Am, I Am was published in 2017 and became a number one Sunday Times bestseller.

    Her eighth novel Hamnet won the 2020 Women’s Prize for Fiction, the 2020 NBCC Award for Fiction, the 2020 Waterstones’ Book of the Year, and was the Fiction Book of the Year at the 2021 British Book Awards.

    Her first book for children, Where Snow Angels Go, is published by Walker Books.

    Maggie became a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 2021.

6 Warwick Court

+44 (0) 207 242 2811


Our Privacy Notice

A.M. Heath is proud to be a member of the Association of Authors’ Agents and endorses the principles of best practice in the Association’s Code of Practice