May 18, 2018

Deviant Minds shortlist revealed

We are delighted to announce our shortlist for the Deviant Minds crime and thriller competition.

Deviant Minds was a competition open to unagented authors with an unpublished adult crime novel or thriller. We received many brilliant entries to the competition and we have now – with difficulty – chosen a shortlist of five titles. The writers will at this stage be requested to submit their entire novel to the Deviant Minds team. The winning novel will be chosen and announced on 9th July. The Deviant Minds prize is an offer of representation at AM Heath and the promise of digital publication from Corvus, Atlantic Books.

And the shortlisted titles are:

HOLD YOUR TONGUE                     





We would like to offer a huge congratulations to our shortlisted writers, and a thank you to everyone who entered Deviant Minds. We were treated with some excellent reading and we wish the best to all the crime and thriller writers out there, as well as everyone who shared and promoted the prize.


May 1, 2018

Victoria Hobbs to judge Caledonia Novel Award 2019

Calling all new writers! The Caledonia Novel Award opens for entries 1 May 2018 and seeks unpublished and self-published novelists, offering a prize of £1000. The prize is open to adult and young adult writing, and to all genres of fiction.

We are delighted to announce that AM Heath Literary Agent Victoria Hobbs will be judging the award this year.

Victoria represents a broad range of authors in fiction and non-fiction, many of whom are bestselling and prize-winning. She is always looking for debut writers and new voices, and is open to submissions across all genres.

In her Q&A with the Caledonia Novel Award, Victoria unpacks what she loves to read, what she looks for in a writer, some of the highlights of her career as an agent, and her advice for entrants to the Caledonia Novel Award.

The Caledonia Novel Award has an excellent reputation for recognising writers at the beginning of their careers and many former winners have found success and publication. The deadline for entries to the 2019 competition is 1 November 2018.


April 30, 2018

Zoë King to join AM Heath

We are thrilled to welcome Literary Agent Zoë King to AM Heath.

Zoë joins AM Heath after working as an Agent and Partner at The Blair Partnership since the agency’s launch seven years ago.

Starting in June, Zoë will be open for submissions at AM Heath and actively looking to develop her list. Her core interests are in commercial non-fiction.

Bill Hamilton, MD of AM Heath says: ‘AM Heath are delighted that Zoë is joining the agency bringing such depth and breadth of experience, especially in author branding and commercial non-fiction. As we head towards our centenary and expand the company to represent new generations of prestigious and bestselling authors, we are very happy to add her highly complementary skills to A M Heath’s successful team of agents.’

Zoë King says: ‘After seven great years at TBP I am looking forward to finding and developing new voices. I am excited to be joining the team at AM Heath.’

March 16, 2018

Kamila Shamsie’s HOME FIRE longlisted for the Women’s Prize

We are thrilled that Kamila Shamsie’s breathtaking and brilliant novel HOME FIRE has been longlisted for the Women’s Prize 2018.

HOME FIRE was also longlisted for the 2017 Man Booker Prize, and shortlisted for the Costa Novel Award 2017.

‘Astonishing… A novel so breath-taking in the calm and witty and unshowy and inexorable telling of its story that, as I was reading it, I kept finding myself not sitting on the sofa anymore… Shamsie fuses the formal continuum of the novel with the refusal to compromise that’s in classical tragedy; she fuses the hope with the hopelessness. The result is powerful… she produces what I think you can truly call a contemporary classic.’ – Ali Smith


March 15, 2018

Maggie O’Farrell shortlisted in British Book Awards

We are delighted that Maggie O’Farrell’s memoir I AM, I AM, I AM has been shortlisted for Narrative Non-Fiction Book of the Year in the British Book Awards.

O’Farrell’s memoir is a number one Sunday Times bestseller and was also recently longlisted for the 2018 Wellcome Prize.

A memoir with a difference, I AM, I AM, I AM is the unputdownable story of an extraordinary woman’s life in near-death experiences. Insightful, inspirational, intelligent, it is a book to be read in one sitting, a story you finish newly conscious of life’s fragility, determined to make every heartbeat count.

The Awards set out to celebrate the very best of the British book industry, shortlisting six titles in each category. The winners will be announced at an Awards Ceremony on the 14th May.



6 Warwick Court

+44 (0) 207 242 2811

Our Privacy Notice

A.M. Heath is proud to be a member of the Association of Authors’ Agents and endorses the principles of best practice in the Association’s Code of Practice